Section for Journalism, Media and Communication Studies

Albert Bonnier Jr:s guest professorship

In 1987 Bonnier Magazine Group donated funds for establishment of a guest professorship in journalism- and mass communication at the Department of journalism, media and communication, Stockholm university. The Bonnier guest professors give lectures for journalists, media researchers and other relevant groups, lead research oriented seminars and are an active part of the graduate- and research seminars at the department. Opportunities for more informal meetings with journalists and researchers are included.

Holder of professorship Year
Robert M. Entman, J.B. and M.C. Shapiro Professor of Media and Public Affairs and Professor of International Affairs at The George Washington University. Spring 2017
José van Dijck, distinguished University professor of Media Studies at the University of Utrecht. Spring 2017
Irene Costera Meijer, Professor of Journalism, VU University Amsterdam Autumn 2016
Karen Arriaza Ibarra, Professor of Audiovisual Communication, Complutense University of Madrid Autumn 2016
Prof. Graeme Turner, University of Queensland Spring 2015
Karin Wahl Jørgensen, Cardiff University Atumn 2014
Robert W. McChesney, University of Illinois Autumn 2013
Prof. Simon Cottle, Cardiff University Autumn 2013
Prof. Milly Buonanno, La Sapienza University of Roma Spring 2013
Prof. Naomi Sakr, University of Westminster Spring 2012
Dr. Paul Frosh, Hebrew University of Jerusalem Autumn 2011
Prof. Epp Lauk, University of Jyväskylä Spring 2011
Prof. Nick Couldry, Goldsmiths, University of London Spring 2011
Prof. Stig Hjarvard, Institut for Medier, Erkendelse og Formidling, Københavns universitet, Denmark Autumn 2010
Prof. Marita Sturken, New York University Steinhardt School of Education, and Human Development, USA

Spring 2010

Prof. Lance Bennett, Department of Communication, Washington University, USA Autumn 2009
Prof. Stuart Allan, Institute of Media Communication Research, Bournemouth University, UK Autumn 2009
Prof. Asbjørn Grønstad, Department of Information Science and Media Studies, University of Bergen, Director Nomadikon, Norway Spring 2009
Prof. William Uricchio, Comparative Media Studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA spring 2009 spring 2009
Prof. Sharon Dunwoody, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA spring 2008
Prof. James Elkins, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, USA spring 2008
Prof. Sigurd Allern, University of Oslo, Norway spring /autumn
Prof. Terhi Rantanen, London School of Economics, UK autumn 2007
Prof. Paolo Mancini, University of Perugia, Italy autumn 2007
Prof. Annette Hill, University of Westminster, UK autumn 2006
Prof. Jan Nederveen Pieterse, University of Illinois, USA autumn 2006
Prof. Ruth Wodak, Lancaster University, UK spring 2005
Prof. Barbie Zelizer, Annenberg School for Communication,
University of Pennsylvania, USA
spring 2005
Prof. Guy Berger, Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa autumn 2004
Prof. Nicholas Mirzoeff, New York University Steinhardt, USA autumn 2003
Prof. Annabelle Sreberny, University of London, UK spring 2003
Prof. Jan Jirák, Charles University in Prague, The Czech Republik autumn 2002
Prof. John Durham Peters, University of Iowa, USA spring 2001
Prof. Simon Frith, University of Stirling , Scotland, UK spring 2000
Prof. Nancy Fraser, The New School for Social Research, NY, USA spring 2000
Prof. Kirsten Drotner, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark autumn 1999
Prof. Sonia Livingstone, London School of Economics and
Political Science, UK
spring 1998
Prof. Graham Murdock, Loughborough University, UK autumn 1998
Dr. Lynette Steenveld, Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa autumn 1996
Prof. Michael Schudson, University of California, San Diego, USA autumn 1994
Prof. Douglas Kellner, University of California, Los Angeles, USA spring 1994
Prof. John Corner, University of Liverpool, UK (there after returned to the department at app 7 occations during
the years of 1995 to 1997)
autumn 1993
Prof. Oleg Manaev, Belarus State University, Minsk, Belarus spring 1993
Prof. Marc Raboy, McGill University, Montréal, Canada 1992/1993
Prof. Janice Radway, Duke University, North Carolina, USA spring 1991
Prof. Ien Ang, University of Western Sydney, Australia spring 1991
Prof. Charlotte Brunsdon, University of Warwick, UK spring 1991
Prof. Ellen Seiter, University of California, San Diego , USA spring 1991
Institute (CAMRI), University of Westminster, UK spring 1991
Prof. James Curran, Goldsmith’s College, University of London, UK
Prof. Colin Sparks, The Communication and Media Research
autumn 1988


Section for Cinema Studies

(Work in progress)

Centre for Fashion Studies

(Work in progress)